Shrimp Risotto

I’ve heard that the IP is fabulous for risotto, which I love. To try it out, I used a recipe I’d saved on Facebook (from a blog): 5-minute Shrimp Scampi Paella Risotto.  Love shrimp, love paella, love risotto.

I followed the recipe as written, including the writer’s strong recommendation to leave the shrimp in the shells while cooking, to get the flavors into the risotto.  The risotto part turned out great. I didn’t love the shrimp. For one thing, my husband hates peeling shrimp, so I peeled all of them after cooking, and since they were piping hot, this delayed getting dinner on the table and was messy and tedious. But I peeled them and put the shrimp back into the risotto.  I also found the shrimp a bit rubbery and bland.

I definitely will keep making risotto recipes in the IP. This turned out perfect. But I’m not sure about the shrimp–might be better to make it separately and mix it into the risotto at the end.

Leave a comment