Eggs, Part 2

Having mostly figured out my Instant Pot, I decided to try hard-boiling eggs again, following the instructions in the article I mentioned in Putting All My Eggs in One Basket (about the first seven things to make in the IP).

Original Instructions

  1. Let the eggs come to room temperature (I did 45-50 min.). (I read this advice on the IP Facebook page, not the “first seven things” article. Don’t know if this is strictly necessary.)
  2. Put however many eggs you want into the IP in a steamer basket (I used the one that came with the IP) and add 1 c. water.
  3. Lock the lead and seal the vent (see, I’m learning).
  4. Use the Manual button and set for five minutes.
  5. When the timer goes off, use quick pressure release (turn valve to venting).
  6. Take off lid, remove eggs with gloves or tongs, immediately submerge in an ice water bath.
  7. Serve immediately or transfer to fridge for later.

What Happened

Everything went as planned, but my eggs were medium-boiled, not hard-boiled.  However, the shell did come off easily, as advertised. Just tap gently once with a table knife, and the egg peeled beautifully.

Research

I went back to the Facebook group and used its search tool to look for posts on hard-boiled eggs.  This is what I found and what I’ll try next (but not right now because I’m a little burned out on trying to hard-boil eggs this weekend, especially since I have a Krups electric egg cooker that works perfectly and is easy to use).

The problem with the original instructions was lack of specificity: how long with the quick pressure release, how long in the ice bath.  This is what is suggested:

  1. Cook as described above for five minutes.
  2. Two minutes on quick pressure release
  3. Six minutes in the ice bath

I think I’ll also skip having the eggs come to room temperature and see what happens. If I have to plan 45 minutes in advance, I’m losing one of the advantages of the IP–getting things done quickly.

EDIT: OK, just found This blog post that suggests 8 minutes of cooking for hard-boiled eggs…hmmmm.

 

Leave a comment